ICD – 10 Guidelines Chapter-wise

ICD – 10 guidelines Topics to be covered :

  • Chapter 1: Certain Infectious and Parasitic Diseases (A00-B99) .


  • Chapter 2: Neoplasm (C00-D49) .


  • Chapter 3: Disease of the blood and blood-forming organs and certain disorders involving the immune mechanism (D50-D89) .


  • Chapter 4: Endocrine, Nutritional, and Metabolic Diseases (E00-E89) .


  • Chapter 5: Mental, Behavioral and Neurodevelopment disorders (F01 – F99) .


  • Chapter 6: Diseases of the Nervous System (G00-G99).


  • Chapter 7: Diseases of the Eye and Adnexa (H00-H59).


  • Chapter 8: Diseases of the Ear and Mastoid Process (H60-H95).


  • Chapter 9: Diseases of the Circulatory System (I00-I99) .


  • Chapter 10: Diseases of the Respiratory System (J00-J99).


  • Chapter 11: Diseases of the Digestive System (K00-K95).


  • Chapter 12: Diseases of the Skin and Subcutaneous Tissue (L00-L99) .


  • Chapter 13: Diseases of the Musculoskeletal System and Connective Tissue (M00-M99).


  • Chapter 14: Diseases of Genitourinary System (N00-N99).


  • Chapter 15: Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Puerperium (O00-O9A).


  • Chapter 16: Certain Conditions Originating in the Perinatal Period (P00-P96).


  • Chapter 17: Congenital malformations, deformations, and chromosomal abnormalities (Q00-Q99).


  • Chapter 18: Symptoms, signs, and abnormal clinical and laboratory findings, not elsewhere classified (R00-R99).


  • Chapter 19: Injury, poisoning, and certain other consequences of external causes (S00-T88).


  • Chapter 20: External Causes of Morbidity (V00-Y99) .


  • The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS), two departments within the U.S. Federal Government’s Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) provide the following guidelines for coding and reporting using the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM).


  • These guidelines have been approved by the four organizations that make up the Cooperating Parties for the ICD-10-CM: the American Hospital Association (AHA), the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA), CMS, and NCHS.

For Full Course of Medical Coding you can get it on Udemy. Click on below link to get the course:


Watch the video for Clear Understanding: